Skip to main content

Environment, Climate Change & Agriculture

Regional Waste Management Plan

For the purposes of waste management planning, Ireland is now divided into three regions: Eastern-Midlands, Southern and Connacht-Ulster. The Connacht Ulster Region comprises nine local authority areas. These areas are Mayo, Galway City, Galway County, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan. 

The Connacht-Ulster Waste Management Plan 2015-2021 provides a framework for the prevention and management of waste in a sustainable manner in Mayo and the other local authority areas. Following a public consultation stage, the final Regional Waste Management Plan was made in May 2015.  

Mayo County Council is the regional lead authority, acting on behalf of the other authorities with responsibility for the successful implementation of the plan. 

All information in relation to the plan, including the plan itself, can be found at  

Back to top