Skip to main content

Governance & Democracy

Local Elections

Local Elections, or the election of councillors, normally take place every five years.   

At the last local elections in 2019, thirty councillors were elected to Mayo County Council. The next local elections are expected to take place in 2024. 

To ensure that each part of County Mayo is represented on Mayo County Council, the county is divided into six local electoral areas:  Ballina, Belmullet, Castlebar, Claremorris, Swinford and Westport. 

The Chairperson of Mayo Council, or Cathaoirleach, is elected each year by the elected members at the Annual General Meeting of Mayo County Council. The Cathaoirleach is responsible for chairing all council meetings and acting as a key representative of Mayo County Council during their term of office. A deputy Chairperson, or Leas-Cathaoirleach, is also elected at the Annual General meeting. 

Back to top