Skip to main content

Growing Mayo

Mayo Connected Communities - Broadband Connection Points (BCP's)

The National Broadband Plan (NBP) is the Government's plan to deliver high speed broadband services to all businesses and households in Ireland. It will ensure that people living and working in rural areas have the same digital opportunities as those in urban areas. The NBP will take time to be rolled out. However, it is essential that high speed, high quality broadband services are accessible as quickly as possible so in Year One of the NBP, Broadband Connection Points (or BCPs) will provide connectivity to local communities.

BCPs are public locations which have been selected to receive high-speed connectivity in the first year of the National Broadband Plan. The locations of the BCPs have been selected by the Local Authority Broadband Officer and subsequently approved by the Department of Rural and Community Development (DRCD). These locations are public areas such as community halls, schools, libraries, GAA facilities and other public spaces.

Connected Communities is an initiative of the Government of Ireland, in partnership with Vodafone. It is the national communications name of the BCP programme enabled by National Broadband Ireland, which will connect circa. 300 centres and locations across rural Ireland to give them access to high-speed broadband services. The aim is to unlock the potential of communities across the country through best in class broadband connectivity, transforming how people all over Ireland live, work, learn and play.

Each BCP will provide 150Mb high speed, high quality broadband access to the local community. This will enable people living in the area to go to the selected location and access broadband for daily use including remote working, general access and even keeping in touch with family and friends abroad through video calling. For more information on BCPs please visit or .

There are currently 16 approved BCPs in Mayo. Please see the list below:

  • Aghamore Community Centre
  • Ardagh Community Centre
  • Belderrig Community Centre
  • Belmullet GAA
  • Bofeenaun Community Centre
  • Clare Island Community Centre
  • Clogher Community Centre
  • Cushlough Community Centre
  • Finny Community Centre
  • Inishturk Community Centre
  • Islandeady Community Centre
  • Keel Community Centre
  • Killaser Community Centre
  • Kilmovee Community Centre
  • Taugheen Community Centre and Playschool
  • Turlough Community Centre

Map of BCPs in Mayo

Find your nearest live BCP

Back to top