Skip to main content

Discover Mayo

Monasteries of the Moy

The Monasteries of the Moy is a 14km route  which forms part of the Western Way linking a series of monastic sites which grew up along the banks of the River Moy between Ballina and Killala. Visit each to experience their varying atmosphere and architecture. 

Each of the sites skirts alongside the River Moy for a time. The sites to visit include;

  • The ruined Augustinian Abbey beside St Muiredach’s Cathedral in Ballina  
  • Rosserk Abbet, a Franciscan friary founded in 1460, is situated 4km outside Ballina, It is still in remarkably fine condition with an impressive and climbable bell tower  
  • Moyne Abbey is just outside Killlala. Overlooking the River Moy estuary, it was founded by the powerful Burke family as a Franciscan friary in 1462  
  • The Priory of the Holy Cross at Rathfran, founded for the Dominicans in 1274 and, like many monasteries, burnt during the reign of Elizabeth I  

The tranquillity and pastoral beauty along this trail can be as captivating as the artistic and architectural allure of the monasteries themselves.  

Back to top