Skip to main content

Cathaoirleach's Awards

Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2022

On Thursday, March 3rd, at a community celebration evening in Breaffy House Resort, the winners of the Mayo County Council Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2022 were announced. 

Mayo County Council’s civic awards are now in their second year, the awards recognise the dedication and efforts of the many community volunteer groups at work in County Mayo, as they work quietly behind the scenes to make our communities stronger, more vibrant and caring. 

After a public nomination process last autumn, all nominees were invited to the presentation evening, which celebrated their achievements and provided a fitting platform to showcase their incredible work to a wide audience.  

The winners were:

Burial Ground of the Year: St Tiernan’s Cemetery, Crossmolina

Community Partnership Project: Aghamore Community Development LTD CLG & Lough Carra Catchment Association (LCCA) (Joint Winners)

Community Tourism Award: Ballina Salmon Festival

Contribution to Diaspora Well-being and Engagement: The late Joe Kennedy and the Kennedy Foundation Manchester

Mayo Publication Award: Newport 300 Committee: Newport 300 the first 200 years (1720-1920) & Fiacre Ryan: Speechless – Reflections from my Voiceless World (Joint Winners)

Contribution to the Arts: Scoil Acla

Community Social Inclusion Project: Ballyhaunis Community Council – Language Café & The Butterfly Garden, Swinford (Joint Winners)

Green Community Group: Climate Action Louisburgh (CALL)

Irish Language Award – Gaeltacht Based: CLG Thuar Mhic Éadaigh

Irish Language Award – Non Gaeltach Based: Máirtín Ó Maicín

Contribution to Local Heritage: Clonncundra History and Heritage Group

Outstanding Contribution to Mayo Life: The late Stephen Dunford

Cathaoirleach’s Special Recognition Award: Henry McGlade

Cllr Seamus Weir, Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council said: “These awards were started to give recognition to the people of Mayo who are the heartbeat and backbone of their communities at home and abroad.  It is an honour as the Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council to present the winners across all the categories.

“While not every group or individual who was nominated could take home an award on the night, everyone who was shortlisted should take great pride in being nominated.  

“I’ve been involved with many, many community groups over the years and have seen first-hand the fantastic work these groups carry out in their locality.

“As Mayo people, by our nature, we don’t do things by half and when we are involved in something, we throw ourselves totally into it and that is why we had so many brilliant groups and individuals represented at the awards.”

Kevin Kelly, Chief Executive of Mayo County Council said on the evening: It comes as no surprise to me to see the sheer volume and quality of nominees that have been put forward for these awards this evening.

“Volunteerism and community spirit are at the heart of all great communities and you see that in the categories that will be awarded this evening.  It is also worth noting that that Mayo’s Public Participation Network has an active database of over 1000 community & voluntary groups from across the county – who are actively out there working for their communities every day of the week.

“The quality of the nominations submitted was extremely high, thus it was difficult for the judges to determine the winners. Regardless of the outcome, I applaud their commitment and enthusiasm for volunteering in your community.

“The Cathaoirleach, elected councillors, and staff of Mayo County Council are dedicated to promoting volunteerism, and we will keep collaborating with community organisations and volunteers in whatever manner we can.

“Mayo is unquestionably a fantastic county in which to work, reside, and enjoy life. You should all be extremely proud of the work you do and the important contribution you each make as volunteers.”

Back to top