Mayo People of the Year 2017 awards announced

Posted in Connect on October 18, 2017.

SPECIAL celebrations are planned on the 25th November to mark the silver jubilee of the Mayo People of the Year Awards. The awards are organised annually by RehabCare, Mayo County Council and The Connaught Telegraph, where all the proceeds raised go towards the development of facilities by RehabCare in Mayo. The awards, organised by Rehab, provide a unique opportunity for the Irish public to honour those who have made a real difference to people’s lives, whether as unsung heroes or household names.

The announcement of the recipients was made earlier tonight (Wednesday) in Breaffy House Hotel by the Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council, Councillor Richard Finn, Edel Cadden, RehabCare Mayo and Bernard Hughes, The Connaught Telegraph.

The Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council, Cllr Richard Finn said: “The various categories in these awards, recognise the work of an individual or group who have given years of unstinting service to their organisation, community, county or country”.

Edel Cadden of RehabCare Mayo said: “The good thing about these awards in that it give us in RehabCare a platform to showcase our services, to showcase the people that we support on a daily basis with disability, both intellectual and physical.

“When we can come in to work to the morning and see a person with a disability getting on with their daily lives and enjoying what they do, then we know that we have done our work right.”

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Hall of Fame Award: Enda Kenny TD

Young Person of the Year: Lisa Gallagher, Belmullet

Gradam na Gaeilge Award: Colmán Ó Raghallaigh, Claremorris

Sports Club of the Year Award: Ballina Athletic Club

Diaspora Award: Martin Grogan

Mayo Award 1: Comharchumann Forbartha Ionad Deirbhile, Eachléim, and the community of the Mullet Peninsula

Mayo Award 2: Marie Farrell, Linenhall Arts Centre.

Mayo Award 3: Brenda Quigg, Saddle Up For Epilepsy.

Mayo Award 4: Cycle to Save A Life group.

Mayo Award 5: Grainne Uaile Sub Aqua Club.

Mayo Award 6: John Kilkenny, Castlebar.

Mayo Award 7: Bernard Guthrie, Ballina.

Mayo Award 8: Fr. Brendan Hoban, Killala Diocese.

Mayo Award 9: Editorial team, Ballyheane Past and Present book

Mayo Award 10: Caitriona Ruane, Castlebar

Mayo Award 11: Helen O’Hara and Love Castlebar volunteers.

Tickets for the presentation function to be held in Breaffy House Hotel on the 25th November are now available at €50 from Edel Cadden, Mayo Rehab Care Centre, Breaffy Road, Castlebar.

All Rights Reserved. Copyright 2019.