Amateur Drama and Music Recording Assistance Awards and Tyrone Guthrie Residency deadline announced.

Posted in Connect on August 29, 2019.

Mayo County Council Arts Service is delighted to announce the deadline for the following Awards and Bursaries for 2019; Amateur Drama Award, Music Recording Assistance Awards and Tyrone Guthrie Regional Bursaries. The deadline for these awards and bursaries is Thursday 24th October 2019.

The Arts Service recognises the rich contribution artists make to the cultural life of the county and therefore the awards are a core part of Mayo Arts Service commitment to supporting County Mayo artists.

Applications will be assessed by an independent panel of industry experts appointed by Mayo County Council.

Amateur Drama Awards: All Amateur Drama groups based in the county are eligible to apply for this award. Two awards of €500 will be allocated to groups who demonstrate innovation, quality and creativity. To be eligible, groups must have put on a production in 2019 and be keen to improve the Amateur Drama sector in their local area.

Music Recording Assistance Award: The award was established to support the recording of original music across all genres by musicians/ singers/ song-writers resident in County Mayo. The award is aimed at assisting an individual or group who wish to record original music.  In the case of choirs and orchestras evidence of originality must be demonstrated. This year there is one award of €1000.

Tyrone Guthrie Regional Bursary:  Mayo County Council is offering two bursaries to artists living and working in Mayo, to enable them to spend two weeks at The Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig, County Monaghan. The centre has a variety of workspaces including studios, a music room for composers and musicians, and a large rehearsal and performance space. Applicants should show significant achievement in their chosen field or demonstrate a high degree of promise.  This bursary is open to practitioners in all art forms.

Film Mayo Tyrone Guthrie Bursary Award: Film Mayo promotes filmmaking in the county, helping professionals to plan shoots to providing information on funding, publicity and local resources. The bursary award will enable filmmakers born or living in Mayo to spend two weeks at The Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig, County Monaghan. Applicants are required to show significant achievement in their chosen field of filmmaking, with guidelines recommending three or more television or screen credits. As well as providing work samples, applicants are required to state what they hope to achieve during their stay at Annaghmakerrig. This should demonstrate that a completed script or film, for example, is being worked toward.

Please Note: There is an opportunity for applicants to attend an information session and one to one clinics with Annette Maloney in Mayo House on Sept 11th from 10am – 5pm.

The workshop will include a presentation and conversation on best practice in writing proposals and applications. It will cover hints and tips on developing proposals, a discussion on common pitfalls and ‘watch-out-fors’, observations on selection panels as well as selection criteria, advice on sample headings to communicate ideas clearly and creatively, suggestions for supporting documentation, CVs and Biogs as well as advice on time management and the dangers of procrastination. This workshop is free for participants, but advance booking is advised as places are limited.

Further information and application forms are available on  or from Mayo Arts Service, Mayo County Council at

The closing date for applications is Thursday 24th October 2019 at 5pm.

Tags: ,

All Rights Reserved. Copyright 2019.