Gaelic Football

Gaelic Football is one of Ireland’s traditional team sports and is played widely throughout the country. The sport o cially started in 1884 but its origins pre-dates this by centuries. 15 players go head to head in this physical contact game, leading to some epic battles throughout the years. Find out more about Gaelic Football here.

Gaelic Football in County Mayo

With GAA clubs in every community the people of County Mayo love their football. Volunteerism is at the core of the sport and many people give up their own time and resources for the success of their club.

Mayo GAA is the governing body of the Gaelic Football in the county. It is responsible for club competitions and coaching, alongside Mayo underage and senior teams. Get more information at

Leeroy Keegan

Voted the GAA/GPA Player of the Year in 2016, Leeroy is one of the best players of the modern era. Known for his tight man marking ability in defence, he is also used to getting forward and kicking match winning scores. Leeroy has won 5 Connacht Senior Football Championships with Mayo and an All-Ireland Club Football Championship with his club Westport.

Aidan O’ Shea

Aidan is one of the powerhouses in the Mayo team, covering almost every inch of ground in the middle third of the pitch. His high elding of the ball and ability to score crucial goals are some of the reasons he has won 6 Connacht Senior Football Championships, a Sigerson Cup and represented Ireland versus Australia in the International Rule Series.

Colm Boyle

Considered by many onlookers as a footballing warrior, Colm has represented Mayo at the highest level. A no nonsense approach combined with tough tackling has made Colm a fan favourite and a recognised star of the game. He has won 5 Connacht Senior Football Championships as part of the Mayo team, an Under 21 All-Ireland Football Championship and 3 All Star Awards on the GAA/GPA Football Team of the Year.

All Rights Reserved. Copyright 2020.